The College of Engineering and Natural Sciences

The University of Tennessee at Martin

Dr. J. Douglas Sterrett, Interim Dean
113 Johnson Engineering-Physical Sciences Building
(901) 881-7380

The College of Engineering and Natural Sciences provides high quality education, professional service to the region, and advancement of knowledge through the research activities of its faculty, students, and staff. The educational mission is four-fold: first, to provide all students basic instruction in the concepts and methods of natural and cultural science, engineering, and mathematics; second, to provide programs of professional education in biology, chemistry, engineering, geology, geography, mathematics; physics and statistics; third, to provide instruction in the basic sciences as a foundation for students pursuing professional degrees in the health sciences and allied health fields; and fourth, to prepare students to successfully continue their education at the graduate school of their choice.

The College of Engineering and Natural Sciences is comprised of five departments: Biological Sciences; Chemistry; Engineering; Geology, Geography and Physics; and Mathematics and Statistics. The pre-professional curricula in the health sciences are also supported within this college.

Four degrees are offered within the College of Engineering and Natural Sciences: the university-wide Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) and Bachelor of Science (B.S.) degrees, the Bachelor of Science in Chemistry, and the Bachelor of Science in Engineering. The Mathematics major is available in support of the B.A. degree. Majors in Biology, Chemistry, Geoscience, Health Science, and Mathematics are available supporting the B.S. degree. The Bachelor of Science in Engineering degree is offered with specialty areas of Civil, Electrical, Industrial, and Mechanical Engineering. Curriculum details for these degrees and majors may be found on the succeeding pages.