Athletics Advisory Board: 2018-2019

PURPOSE: The Athletics Advisory Board advises the UT Martin Chancellor on the status and projected needs of intercollegiate athletics at UT Martin and on other athletics matters as deemed necessary by the Chancellor; expands the base of financial and public support among several constituencies, including Trustees, UT University-wide administration, alumni, donors, faculty, students, parents, UTM administration, staff, legislators, and the general public, particularly in the State of Tennessee.


COMPOSITION: UT Martin Chancellor; Vice Chancellors; Chief Communications Officer; Faculty Senate President; Faculty Senate President-elect; Director of Intercollegiate Athletics; Senior Woman Administrator - Intercollegiate Athletics; Registrar; Coordinators of Mathematics, Reading, and Writing Laboratories; Chancellor’s Roundtable Chair; Alumni Council President; Northwest Tennessee Region UTM Alumni Chapter President; Skyhawk Club President; Student Government Association President; and Undergraduate Alumni Council representative.


The UT Martin Faculty Athletics Representative appointed by the Chancellor shall be chair. In addition to the chair, there shall be six (6) faculty members appointed for three year terms with at least one member rotating off each year, one (1) Employee Relations Council representative, one (1) at-large staff representative, one (1) alumni representative, two (2) each male and female student-athlete representatives (one representative must be the SAAC President), and one (1) at-large student. The Chancellor, as appointing authority, shall ensure adequate minority representation on the Athletics Board.





*Dr. Keith Carver, Chancellor

*Dr. Philip Acree Cavalier, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

*Mr. Andy Wilson, Vice Chancellor for University Advancement

*Ms. Petra McPhearson, Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration

*Dr. Andy Lewter, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

*Mr. Bud Grimes, Chief Communications Officer

*Mr. Kurt McGuffin, Director of Intercollegiate Athletics

*Ms. Danelle Fabianich, Senior Woman Administrator, Intercollegiate Athletics

*Mr. Tommy Legins, Chair, Chancellor’s Roundtable (2019)

*Mr. Jay Goss, President or designee, UTM Alumni Council (2019)

*Ms. Erica Bell, President or designee, Northwest Tennessee Region UTM Alumni Chapter (2019)

*Mr. Alex Bynum, President, Skyhawk Club (2019)

*Dr. Renee LaFleur, President, Faculty Senate

*Dr. Philip Smartt, President-elect, Faculty Senate

*Ms. Martha Barnett, Registrar

*Mr. John Bush, Mathematics Laboratory Coordinator

*Dr. Karen DiBella, Reading Center Director

*Dr. Kelle Alden, Writing Laboratory Coordinator

*Mr. Devin Majors, SGA President (2019)

*Mr. Daniel Jones, Undergraduate Alumni Council Representative (2019)

*Dr. John Schommer, Faculty Representative, Chair (2019)

Dr. Chris Baxter, Faculty Representative (2019)

Ms. Heidi Busch, Faculty Representative (2020)

Dr. David Coffey, Faculty Representative (2020)

Mr. Sam Richardson, Faculty Representative (2019)

Dr. Chrissie Segars, Faculty Representative (2021)

Dr. Michael Spaulding, Faculty Representative (2021)

Ms. Deanean Smith, Employee Relations Council Representative (2019)

Mr. Kameron Echols, At-large Staff Representative (2019)

Ms. Jasmine Newsome, UT Martin Alumni Representative (2019)

Ms. Morgan Simmons, At-large Student Representative (2019)

Mr. Will Graves, Male Student-Athlete Representative (2019)

Mr. Porter Streator III, Male Student-Athlete Representative (2019)

Ms. Jade Bleskey, Female Student-Athlete Representative – SAAC President (2019)

Ms. Jemima Potter, Female Student-Athlete Representative (2019)

(*Indicates ex-officio member of the Board)