Publications Committee: 2019-2020

PURPOSE: The Publications Committee establishes policies governing student publications, appoints qualified students to editorial positions of the yearbook and the campus newspaper, nominates faculty sponsors, and recommends budgets of official student publications. No campus student publication may solicit advertising without this committee's approval. It is the Committee's responsibility to see that publications meet standards of objectivity and taste that are consistent with the Committee's own Code of Ethics and Policy Guide. Official student publications, funded all or in part by university-collected funds, must be approved by this Committee. The Committee has authority to reprimand or replace student staff as well as to recommend salaries and commissions. The Committee shall also study ways to integrate experience gained into the Department of Communications curriculum.


COMPOSITION: Chief Communications Officer, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, Vice Chancellor for University Advancement, Director of Intercollegiate Athletics, Chair of the Department of Communications, Sports Information Director, five (5) faculty members serving two year terms, SGA President, three (3) students appointed by the Student Government Association President and approved by the Student Senate, and one UT Martin graduate familiar with journalism. The chair of the Committee is selected by the outgoing Committee.


REPORTING CHANNEL: Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs



*Mr. Bud Grimes, Chief Communications Officer

*Dr. Philip Acree Cavalier, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

*Ms. Petra McPhearson, Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration

*Dr. Andy Lewter, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

*Mr. Andy Wilson, Vice Chancellor for University Advancement

*Mr. Kurt McGuffin, Director of Intercollegiate Athletics

*Mr. Ryne Rickman, Director of Sports Information

*Dr. Robert Nanney, Chair of Communications, Chair

Ms. Elizabeth Lackey, UT Martin Graduate (2020)

Dr. Brian Donavant, Faculty Representative (2021)

Dr. Steve Elliott, Faculty Representative (2020)

Dr. Carrie Humphreys, Faculty Representative (2020)

Mr. David McBeth, Faculty Representative (2021)

Dr. Mark Simpson, Faculty Representative (2020)

Ms. Veronica Kanka, SGA President or designee (2020)

Ms. Lillie Brown, SGA Representative (2020)

Ms. Sidney Church, SGA Representative (2020)

Mr. Jagger Lampkins, SGA Representative (2020)

(*Indicates ex‑officio member of the Committee)