Writing Awards

2016 EMFL Writing Contest


The Department of English and Modern Foreign Languages at UT Martin invites you to enter the annual Student Writing Contest, with awards in six categories:


The Robert G. Cowser Poetry Award (7+ poems)


The Jenna S. Wright Literary Award in the Short Story (1 story)


The Margrethe Ahlschwede Personal Essay Award (1 essay)


The John E. McCluskey Undergraduate Scholarly Essay Award (1 formally documented critical essay of 8-20 pages) $150

The Foreign Language Scholarly Essay Award


Technical Writing and Business Communication Award




Competitions are open to full-time students enrolled at UT Martin during either or both of the 2015-2016 terms. The scholarly essay award is open for undergraduates only. All work submitted must be original. Previously published works are eligible. Writings may be concurrently submitted to BeanSwitch.



All entries must be submitted by 5:00 p.m., March 18, 2016.


Directions for Entering

  1. Enclose unsigned entry in a manila envelope.
  2. Include a cover sheet providing your name, e-mail, and phone contact information, and the category in which your submission is to be considered.
  3. Place the envelope in the basket labeled "Writing Awards" in the English Department Office (131 Humanities Building)


  1. The winner in each category will receive a cash award of $150.
  2. Each winner will be invited to submit an electronic copy of his or her entry for posting on the department website.
  3. BeanSwitch, the campus art and literary magazine, will publish a list of winners.
  4. Winners will be recognized at the English & Modern Foreign Languages Department Awards Banquet.
  5. Winners will be recognized on Honors Day.

Winners of the 2015 EMFL Department Writing Awards


The Scholarly Essay in a Modern Foreign Language Award:

  • Winner: Tiffany Bledsoe
  • Honroable Mention: Patty Cupples

The Robert G. Cowser Poetry Award:

  • Winner: Mallory Spisak

The UTM English and Modern Foreign Languages Department Short Story Award:

  • Winner: Lauren Maddox

The Margrethe Ahlschwede Personal Essay and Creative Non-Fiction Award:

  • Winner: Dillon Davis
  • Honroable Mention: Jarmeisha Gladney

The John E. McCluskey Scholarly Essay Award: Paige Mason (honorable mention: Cody Jarman)

  • Winner: James Rocky Holland

Course Descriptions

View Course Descriptions >

Student Organizations

View Student Organizations >