File Sharing and Storage

Help Desk

247 Paul Meek Library

Martin, TN 38238

Ph:

(731) 881-7900

Em:

helpdesk@utm.edu

File Sharing and Storage

Overview

Office 365 OneDrive:

  • Cloud based storage that uses a sync client to securely transfer data
  • All users get a 1TB home area
  • Departments can create o365 groups, with attached OneDrive storage and Calendar sharing
  • Data is encrypted at rest, on the server side, and in transit
  • Certified for HIPAA/PHI, FERPA, and PII data

Google Drive:

  • Cloud based storage that uses a sync client to securely transfer data
  • All users get a 1TB home area
  • Data is encrypted at rest, on the server side, and in transit
  • Certified for FERPA and PII data

Features

OneDrive for Business

OneDrive for Business is available through your Office 365 account. You can store documents and photos online so they can be accessed from any Internet-connected computer and be shared with others.​ The OneDrive for Business quota is 1 TB (soon to be unlimited). Deleted items go into the recycle bin, where they stay until they’re automatically removed 90 days later. During the 90-day period, you can remove files from the recycle bin to free up storage space or restore items to their original location if you’ve accidentally deleted them. Once a file has been removed from the recycle bin, it can no longer be recovered.

 

Additional information about OneDrive, including the usage policy, is available on our Office 365 page.

Google Drive

Google Drive on your Mac, PC, Android or iOS device gives you a single place for up-to-date versions of your files from anywhere. Google Drive is currently offering unlimited storage for education customers. Files removed from Google Drive will be in your Trash until you permanently delete the files or restore them. Some things to know about Trash:

  • If you move a file out of your Google Drive folder on your computer, the same file on the web will be moved to Trash.
  • If you move a shared file to Trash, it will still be shared until you empty the Trash.
  • If you empty the Trash, the file will be permanently deleted. Files that have been permanently deleted can be restored for up to 25 days.

Contact the HelpDesk if you have questions about which option is best for you.

Hours of Operation

Sun.
Aug. 20

12 P.M. - 9 P.M.
12:00 PM

Mon.
Aug. 21

7 A.M. - 9 P.M.
7:00 AM

Tue.
Aug. 22

7 A.M. - 9 P.M.
7:00 AM

Wed.
Aug. 23

7 A.M. - 9 P.M.
7:00 AM

Thu.
Aug. 24

7 A.M. - 9 P.M.
7:00 AM

 

Help Desk

247 Paul Meek Library

Martin, TN 38238

Ph:

(731) 881-7900

Em:

helpdesk@utm.edu