Our Chapter

President

Dr. Elaine Harriss

Martin, TN 38238

Ph:

(731) 881-7411

Em:

Dr. Elaine Harriss


Our Chapter

A significant step toward academic excellence was taken at UT Martin on May 21, 1971, when Chapter 127 of the National Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi was organized. This was a result of almost a decade of preparation.


In 1962, UT Martin Chancellor Paul Meek asked Dean William H. Baker of Business Administration to contact the Phi Kappa Phi national headquarters. The national headquarters denied the initial request for a UT Martin chapter but suggested a local honor society with similar standards be formed, which led to the creation of Phi Sigma Phi. Six years later, President Jimmy Trentham of Phi Sigma Phi received notification UT Martin would have its own chapter of Phi Kappa Phi.


On May 21, 1971, Dr. Albertine Krohn, Regional Vice President of Phi Kappa Phi, presented a charter for Chapter 127 to 11 petitioners. Eighteen members of other chapters promptly affiliated, and 86 faculty and 53 students were initiated. It is notable that of about 2000 colleges and universities in the United States, UT Martin was the 127th to have a Phi Kappa Phi chapter. Dean William H. Baker became the chapter's first president.

 

Past Presidents | Bylaws | Lectures

 

Past Presidents and Members

Past presidents and members of Phi Kappa Phi Chapter 127, gathered on March 23 for the rededication of the Phi Kappa Phi wall of honor in the Paul Meek Library. Pictured front row L to R - Dr. Marvin Downing, Dr. Nell Gullet, Dr. Lonnie Maness, Anna Clark, Dr. Lynn Alexander, Brian Johnson, Jenna Wright, Dr. Ernie Moser. Back Row L to R - Dr. Otha Britton, Dr. Bob Duck. Dr. Jim Clark, Dr. Jim Byford, Dr. Nick Dunagan (former chancellor), Dr. Jerald Ogg, Dr. Frank Black, Chancellor Tom Rakes.

Officers for 2013-2014

President Elaine Harriss - elaineh@utm.edu
President-Elect Stephanie Kolitsch - styler@utm.edu
Past President Daniel Pigg - danielp@utm.edu
Student Vice Presidents

Charles McClellan

John Brewer

Secretary Chris Hill chrish@ut.utm.edu
Treasurer Nancy Warren - nwarren@utm.edu
Reporter David Carithers - dcarithers@utm.edu
Public Relations Officer

Becky Cox  beckyc@utm.edu

 

Committee Chairs

Banquet Nell Gullett - ngullett@utm.edu
Honors and Awards Ann Gathers - agathers@utm.edu
Hospitality Jenna Wright - jwright@utm.edu
Membership Ricky Garlitz  rgarlitz@utm.edu
Nominating Anna Clark - aclark@utm.edu
Program Lynn Alexander - lalexand@utm.edu

 

Phi Kappa Phi

National PKP Site

Visit the National PKP Site.

Click Here >

President

Dr. Elaine Harriss

Martin, TN 38238

Ph:

(731) 881-7411

Em:

Dr. Elaine Harriss