• University Relations
  • University Relations
  • University Relations
  • University Relations

Sign Posting Procedures

  • University Relations
  • University Relations
  • University Relations
  • University Relations

UT Martin wants to help you effectively promote your events, activities and information. These procedures will assist you in accomplishing your goals while minimizing litter and campus clutter. Approval for posting does not represent University endorsement of the information posted or the actual function(s) advertised. The University reserves the right to make exceptions to or extend this policy in the interest of public safety or on the basis of appropriateness. More specific information can be found in other University publications, such as the Student Handbook and the Faculty Handbook.

Purposes of Sign Posting Procedures      

  1. Provide procedures by which individuals, groups and organizations can post materials.
  2. Outline the approval process for posting materials on campus.
  3. Explain the process by which these procedures will be implemented.

Back to top.

 

Internal Signage Procedures

  • Postings must be placed in approved designated locations in buildings regularly accessed by students and/or the general public. Buildings noted in the following section have spaces designated for posting information; some have space only for University-related announcements, while others have additional spaces that are approved for posting classified/community information. Contact the appropriate building manager for posting sites and procedures.
  • All University-related postings shall reflect activities of recognized student organizations or University units.
  • Postings or advertising that promote the use and/or sale of alcohol as the primary function of the event are prohibited.
  • Posted materials must clearly promote the activity publicized and the sponsoring University organization or sponsor/partner as its primary message, rather than the commercial advancement of the non-affiliated entity or product. If the name, logo, trademark, slogan, or similar identifier of a non-University affiliate appears on the posting, it must not appear as the dominant message.
  • Individuals not affiliated with the University (for example: vendors, organizations, businesses, entities, etc.) are permitted to advertise on campus by either (1) purchasing an ad in The Pacer student newspaper or other official University media and/or (2) posting reasonable amounts of advertising items on designated bulletin boards.
  • Postings may be placed only in designated areas; all other areas are prohibited.  Prohibited areas include but not limited to: exterior surfaces of any campus building, trees, lampposts, fences, rights of way adjacent to University academic, residential or support facilities, or on the windshields of cars.  Postings on the inside or outside of glass doors and windows are also prohibited.
  • Campaign signage for student elections is governed by Student Government Association election rules as noted in the SGA Constitution found here.
  • The Student Handbook governs signage for general elections of government officials under the section “Political Activities on Campus” and found here.
  • University organizations, divisions, departments and offices are responsible for litter generated by their own handouts or handbills.

Back to top.

 

Building and University Grounds Managers

Building Building Manager Email address Office Phone / Cell Phone
Ag Teaching & Demonstration Center Erica Carroll ecarroll@utm.edu 7475 / 731-608-2943
            Alternate contact: Tara Woods twoods@utm.edu 1071 / 731-225-9676
Alumni Center Charley Deal cdeal@utm.edu  7611 / 731-514-2346
            Alternate contact: Andrew Hart ahart2@utm.edu   3611 / 731-571-7421
Animal Diagnostics Laboratory Jason Roberts jroberts@utm.edu  7952 / 731-514-1475
            Alternate contact: Tara Woods twoods@utm.edu 1071 / 731-225-9676
Baseball-Softball Fieldhouse Donley Canary dcanary@utm.edu 7162 / 731-514-0774
            Alternate contact: Rick Robinson rrbobin28@utm.edu 7337 / 731-514-5316
Brehm Hall Todd Winters winters@utm.edu  7251 / 618-967-6817
            Alternate contact: Joey Mehlhorn mehlhorn@utm.edu  7262 / 731-819-2065
Business Administration Building Ross Dickens rdicken2@utm.edu 7306 / 251-586-3039
            Alternate contact: Tenna Bynum tbynum@utm.edu 7306 / 731-796-3338
Child & Family Resource Center Lori Wilson lwilson@utm.edu   7113 / 731-514-9865
            Alternate contact: Jessica Pryor jpryor@utm.edu 1402 / 731-514-4327
Child Care Facility Leanne Snider lsnider@utm.edu  7716 / 731-587-9179
            Alternate contact: Anne Ford aford30@utm.edu 731-514-4457
Chiller Plants David Rinks drinks@utm.edu 7640 / 731-588-0997
            Alternate contact: Davis Rash drash@utm.edu 7640 / 731-235-0854
Clement Hall Kelli Barnes kbarnes@utm.edu  7733 / 731-592-9547
            Alternate contact: Earl Wright ewright@utm.edu 7735 / 731-514-0107
Communications Building Robert Nanney rnanney@utm.edu  7556 / 731-358-1550
            Alternate contact: Rodney Freed rfreed@utm.edu 7532 / 731-514-8393
Crisp Hall Steve Sherfield sherfeld@utm.edu 7777 / 731-234-8728
            Alternate contact: Steve Lemond slemond@utm.edu 7895 / 731-571-4607
Elam Center Eric Simmons esimmons@utm.edu  3754 / 731-819-2149
            Alternate contact: Gina McClure gmcclure@utm.edu 7746 / 731-699-0004
Electrical Generation Facility Tim Nipp timnipp@utm.edu  7601 / 731-796-5635
            Alternate contact: Brad Burkett bburkett@utm.edu 7641 / 731-446-4080
EPS Bldg. Richard Helgeson helgeson@utm.edu  7380 / 731-571-7904
            Alternate contact: Ed Wheeler ewheeler@utm.edu  7265 / 731-414-7457
Farm Maintenance Building & Swine Center Hunter Stephens hstephe1@utm.edu 1011 / 731-446-5945
            Alternate contact: Tara Woods twoods@utm.edu 1071 / 731-225-9676
Fine & Performing Arts Building Doug Cook dcook@utm.edu 7406 / 731-358-0024
            Alternate contact: Johnathan Vest jvest@utm.edu 7482 / 615-579-8700
Football Building Bart Belew bbelew@utm.edu 7689 / 731-514-0071
            Alternate contact: Vickie Higgs vlhiggs@gmail.com 7670 / 731-514-4154
Gooch Hall Debbie Mount dmount@utm.edu 7104 / 731-571-9316
            Alternate contact: Lori Beth Wilson lwilso33@utm.edu 7930 / 731-514-3641
Hall Moody Administration Building Laura Foltz lfoltz@utm.edu 1428 / 731-514-1550
            Alternate contact: Lori Donavant ldonavant@utm.edu 7815 / 731-819-5432
Heating Plant Lester Brundige lesterb@utm.edu 7645 / 731-587-9233
            Alternate contact: Dale Burton No email 7645 / 731-446-2288
Holland McCombs Center Lionel Crews lcrews@utm.edu 7436 / 731-514-0171
            Alternate contact: Debbie Ammons debbiew@utm.edu 7436 / 731-514-3953
Humanities Building David Coffey dcoffey@utm.edu 7342 / 731-819-2304
            Alternate contact: Judy Jones jjones@utm.edu 7490 / 731-819-7974
Jackson Center Kayce Beam kbeam1@utm.edu 731-425-9229 / 731-697-7902
            Alternate contact: Wanda Brundige brundige@utm.edu  731-425-9229 / 731-988-8057
Maintenance Center Tim Nipp timnipp@utm.edu 7601 / 731-796-5635
            Alternate contact: Brad Burkett bburkett@utm.edu 7641 / 731-446-4080
McNairy County/Selmer Center Sandy King sking@utm.edu 731-646-1636 / 731-610-5867
            Alternate contact: Kathleen Donnenworth kdonnenw@utm.edu 731-646-1636 / 731-267-5870
Motor Pool Mike Travis mtravis@utm.edu 7656 / 731-819-2573
            Alternate contact: Mike Bivens mbivens@utm.edu 7656 / 731-514-9410
Ned McWherter Agricultural Complex Hunter Stephens hstephe1@utm.edu 1011 / 731-446-5945
            Alternate contact: Joey Mehlhorn mehlhorn@utm.edu  7262 / 731-819-2065
NW Child Care Resource Center Sharon Waterfield swaterf2@utm.edu 7103 / 731-332-1445
            Alternate contact: Deborah Abel dabel2@utm.edu 7912 / 731-514-0191
Paul Meek Library Charles Julian cjulian2@utm.edu 7070 / 304-650-8497
            Alternate contact: Mary Ann Rea mrea@utm.edu 7075 / 731-587-3953
Parsons Center Kelli Deere kdeere@utm.edu 731-847-3880 / 731-225-5736
            Alternate contact: Kathleen Przybeck kprzybeck@utm.edu 731-847-3880 / 731-607-8428
Plant Science Research Center Wes Totten wtotten@utm.edu 7936 / 256-777-8440
            Alternate contact: Hunter Stephens hstephe1@utm.edu 1011 / 731-446-5945
Ray and Wilma Smith Livestock Center Hunter Stephens hstephe1@utm.edu 1011 / 731-446-5945
            Alternate contact: Joey Mehlhorn mehlhorn@utm.edu  7262 / 731-819-2065
Recycle Center Mike Davis, Jr. wdavis11@utm.edu 3077 / 731-514-9946
            Alternate contact: Dennis Kosta dkosta@utm.edu 7640 / 731-514-6520
Rhodes Golf Center Jerry Carpenter jecgolf@utm.edu 7665 / 731-225-1992
            Alternate contact: Scott Carpenter scbirdie@hotmail.com 731-588-3838
Ripley Center Mykle Johnson mjohn193@utm.edu 731-221-8778 / 901-359-1481
            Alternate contacts: Xavier Anderson xandrews@utm.edu 731-221-8778 / 731-460-1964
ROTC Building Michael Johnson mjohn194@utm.edu 7153 / 803-348-0808  
            Alternate contact: Rochelle Alexander rotcsupply@utm.edu 7159 / 731-514-9635
Sheep and Goat Barn Tara Woods twoods@utm.edu 1071 / 731-225-9676
            Alternate contact: Hunter Stephens hstephe1@utm.edu 1011 / 731-446-5945
Skyhawk Fieldhouse Eric Simmons esimmons@utm.edu 3754 / 731-819-2149
            Alternate contact: Gina McClure gmcclure@utm.edu 7746 / 731-699-0004
Sociology Donna Brewer donnbrew@utm.edu 3520 / 731-332-2435
            Alternate contact: Cynthia West cwest@utm.edu 7524 / 731-234-1939
Stadium Tim Nipp timnipp@utm.edu  7601 / 731-796-5635
            Alternate contact: Brad Burkett bburkett@utm.edu 7641 / 731-446-4080
Student Health Center Shannon Deal sdeal@utm.edu 7750 / 731-514-2344
            Alternate contact: Connie Harris charris@utm.edu 7721 / 731-225-2768
Student Housing Earl Wright ewright@utm.edu 7735 / 731-514-0107
            Alternate contact: Ryan Martin rmartin@utm.edu 7731 / 731-332-9117
Student Life Center Tim Barrington timbarr@utm.edu 7091 / 731-431-6423
            Alternate contact: Pending    
Student Recreation Center Gina McClure gmcclure@utm.edu 7746 / 731-699-0004
            Alternate contact: Eric Simmons esimmons@utm.edu 3754 / 731-819-2149
Tennis Center Dennis Taylor dtaylor@utm.edu 7683 / 731-514-4235
            Alternate contact: Danelle Fabianich danellef@utm.edu 7663 / 731-225-6740
University Center John Abel jabel@utm.edu 7756 / 731-514-1082
            Alternate contact: Fimis Halkias shalkias@utm.edu 7766 / 731-514-6607
University Grounds Bud Grimes bgrimes@utm.edu 7615 / 731-514-9358
            Alternate contact: Nancy Yarbrough nyarbrough@utm.edu 7801 / 731-694-2780
West Tenn. Ag Pavilion & Stalling Facility Hunter Stephens hstephe1@utm.edu 1011 / 731-446-5945
            Alternate contact: Joey Mehlhorn mehlhorn@utm.edu  7262 / 731-819-2065

 

Back to top.

 

d

Posting Content

All postings should include, as appropriate, the following information:

  • Who – Name of organization
  • What – Name of event
  • When – Date of event
  • Where – Location for event
  • Contact person
  • Contact information
  • University logo (as appropriate)

Back to top.

 

Approval Process

  • As noted in “Posting Procedures,” postings must be placed in approved designated locations in buildings regularly accessed by students and/or the general public.  Anyone wanting to post fliers/posters/materials must follow the approval process for each building/location and should contact the appropriate building manager for posting sites and procedures in that particular facility. 
  • The Office of Dining Services must approve table tents placed in Skyhawk Cafeteria and the Food Court.

Back to top.

Compliance

Violations of these procedures by students or student organizations are a violation of the Student Handbook and will be subject to the University judicial process. Violations by other non-student University units will be addressed by the appropriate vice chancellor area consistent with University policy.

Violations involving external organizations will be addressed by the University’s Solicitation Policy found in the Student Handbook and UT Fiscal Policies (FI0325 Concessions and Solicitations on the University Campus) found at https://my.tennessee.edu/portal/page?_pageid=34,34235&_dad=portal&_schema=PORTAL.

 

Back to top.

External Signage Procedures

University student organizations and departments are permitted to use temporary outside signage and banners to promote University-approved activities and events; banners are not permitted in or on academic buildings. Signs should be placed no more than one (1) week before the event or activity and removed immediately following the event’s conclusion. The Office of the Physical Plant will remove signage not removed within 24 hours; the department, group or individual will then be billed for the expenses of the signage removal. Individual signs must be spaced a minimum of 50 yards apart. “Yard signs” constructed with firm backing and wire stands for easy set-up and removal are preferred. Lettering and graphics should be neatly and properly displayed. Paper signs are prohibited unless posted on a designated area (i.e., the kiosk located between Crisp Hall and the Meek Library). The Office of the Physical Plant must approve in advance, after other required approvals have been obtained, banners displayed at ground level for any purpose. University groups are encouraged to use approved avenues to promote events such as the University Web calendar, bulletin boards, sidewalk chalk, the kiosk, the electronic sign, and TV monitors located in campus buildings.

  • Signage request forms will be stamped to show approval for posting prior to actual posting or display. The Division of Academic Affairs will approve signs for academic-sponsored events, and the Division of Student Affairs will approve signs for student-sponsored events.
  • Posting restrictions required by the fire marshal will be followed as applicable.

Back to top.

Portable Electronic Signage Guidelines

The use of electronic metal portable signs on campus will only be approved to promote University events. Use of electronic portable signs requires prior approval through the Division of Finance and Administration. Appropriate community events can be featured on the University’s electronic sign.

 

Back to top.