Leadership Program

Administration Building, Room 321

Martin, TN 38238

Ph:

(731) 881-7298

Em:

Virginia Grimes


Support

Leadership Program

Applications are reviewed by the Board of Trustees, who are responsible for selecting the WestStar class. Only one class is chosen each year. Selection is based on leadership achievements and potential to contribute to the development of the region. Geography and diversity are factors in the overall class selection. Past participants have been chosen from all occupations and levels of community and regional involvement. WestStar does not select on the basis of age, sex, race or religion.

 

Candidates need to provide a completed application. Applications may be faxed, but the original must be on file in the WestStar office to be eligible for selection.

 

If accepted for the program, a tuition fee of $700 is payable prior to the first session. The fee includes meals during each session, breaks, program materials and expenses. Participants are responsible for their own lodging and transportation. Two-thirds of actual participant cost is underwritten by the program sponsors.

 

WestStar is an exciting program of study designed exclusively for class members. One of the major benefits of the program is the interaction with other class members and the people who are shaping the future of West Tennessee. Therefore, the program requires full participation by those selected for the program. Applicants should carefully review the program dates and assure their availability for all sessions. Board of Trustee policy specifies that any absence from a session or any part of a session be reviewed by the Trustees to determine if continued successful participation is still feasible.

 

WestStar benefits the people of West Tennessee first and foremost as a result of the knowledge, commitment, excitement, and enthusiasm graduates have for helping the region achieve its potential. Individuals also benefit from:

  • The new skills and knowledge they have gained from the seminars
  • The contact and friendships made with fellow class members and recognized state leaders
  • The confidence acquired in their ability to make a difference in their communities and the region
  • Public recognition from membership in a unique commitment to serving their communities and the state

 

“Opening Retreat/Orientation”
December 11, 2014, Martin

 

“Agriculture and Transportation”
January 8-9, 2015, Martin/Union City
(Obion & Weakley Counties)

 

“Fundamentals of Economic Development: Building Communities from the Base Up”
January 29-30, 2015, Brownsville/Covington
(Haywood & Tipton Counties)

 

“Health, Welfare, and Social Consequences: The Humanity of Leadership”
February 12-13, 2015, Jackson (Madison County)

 

“Public Policy Issues: What is Happening in Tennessee?”
March 10-11, 2015, Nashville – Tuesday/Wednesday

 

“Education: Creating Partnerships for Economic Development”
April 9-10, 2015, Ripley/Dyersburg (Dyer & Lauderdale Counties)


“Energy, Environment and Technology
April 23-24, 2015
(Gibson & Crockett Counties)

 

“Building Partnerships for West Tennessee and Tourism”
May 21-22, 2015, Paris (Henry County)

 

“Taking Your Community Strengths and Making Them an Asset”
June 4-5, 2015, Selmer/Savannah/Pickwick
(McNairy & Hardin Counties)

 

“Celebrating the WestStar Class of 2015: Graduation Banquet”
June 18, 2015 (evening only), Jackson

 

WestStar Leadership Class of 2015

 

Nicky Burgess
jconner1975@hotmail.com
Haywood County

 

Hope Cooper
hcooper@atacpa.net
Madison County

 

Ordis Copeland
ordis.copeland@tn.gov
Shelby County

 

Lisa Cothran
Lcothran@jacksontn.com
Madison County

 

Jim Crone
jim.crone@trane.com
Shelby County

 

Bernie Grappe
bernie.grappe@wth.org
Madison County

 

Keith Cursey
keith.cursey@mtdproducts.com
Weakley County

 

Mark Heaston
heaston11959@msn.com
Tipton County

 

Eddie Lee Herndon
elherndon@unitedway.tn.org
Madison County

 

Wendy Hopper
wcjhopper@gmail.com
Henderson County

 

Jerry James
jerryj@a2h.com
Shelby County

 

Katie Keathley
kkeathley@obioncounty.org
Obion County

 

Sara Kilgore
skilgore@bentoncountycamden.com
Benton County

 

Shawn Kimble
skimble@Lced.net
Lauderdale County

 

Kyle Lusby
sklusby@gmail.com
Weakley County

 

Jim Luvene
jamesluvene@cableone.net
Dyer County

 

Clinton Neal
clintonneal@bellsouth.net
Haywood County

 

Kirk Newcom
knewcom@wbbjtv.com
Madison County

 

Kim Patterson
kpatterson5350@gmail.com
Henry County

 

Lisa Piercey
lisa.piercey@wth.org
Gibson County

 

Chris Ramey
chris.ramey@jcseagles.org
Madison County

 

Blake Reynolds
blake@fandmconsulting.com
Hardin County

 

John Smith
johnsmithynm@yahoo.com
McNairy County

 

Nathan Smothers
agncyh@bellsouth.net
Carroll County

 

Jason Sullivan
jsullivan@utfi.org
Weakley County

 

Judy Watters
judy.watters@gmail.com
Fayette County

 

Tony White
twhite@co.madison.tn.us
Madison County

 

John Young
jyoung@downhomebank.com
Dyer County

 

Steve Young
steveyoung@kw.com
Shelby County

 

Application forms are available at http://app.perfectforms.com/player.htm?f=SkLggAEk

Nomination forms are available at http://app.perfectforms.com/player.htm?f=Z0jBggEm

A reference forms are available at http://app.perfectforms.com/player.htm?f=8UrAAgsH