Leadership Program

Administration Building, Room 321

Martin, TN 38238

Ph:

(731) 881-7298

Em:

Virginia Grimes


Support

Leadership Program

Applications are reviewed by the Board of Trustees, who are responsible for selecting the WestStar class. Only one class is chosen each year. Selection is based on leadership achievements and potential to contribute to the development of the region. Geography and diversity are factors in the overall class selection. Past participants have been chosen from all occupations and levels of community and regional involvement. WestStar does not select on the basis of age, sex, race or religion.

 

Candidates need to provide a completed and signed application. Applications may be faxed, but the original must be on file in the WestStar office to be eligible for selection.

 

If accepted for the program, a tuition fee of $700 is payable prior to the first session. The fee includes meals during each session, breaks, program materials and expenses. Participants are responsible for their own lodging and transportation. Two-thirds of actual participant cost is underwritten by the program sponsors.

 

WestStar is an exciting program of study designed exclusively for class members. One of the major benefits of the program is the interaction with other class members and the people who are shaping the future of West Tennessee. Therefore, the program requires full participation by those selected for the program. Applicants should carefully review the program dates and assure their availability for all sessions. Board of Trustee policy specifies that any absence from a session or any part of a session be reviewed by the Trustees to determine if continued successful participation is still feasible.

 

WestStar benefits the people of West Tennessee first and foremost as a result of the knowledge, commitment, excitement, and enthusiasm graduates have for helping the region achieve its potential. Individuals also benefit from:

  • The new skills and knowledge they have gained from the seminars
  • The contact and friendships made with fellow class members and recognized state leaders
  • The confidence acquired in their ability to make a difference in their communities and the region
  • Public recognition from membership in a unique commitment to serving their communities and the state

 

“Opening Retreat/Orientation”
December 11, 2014, Martin

 

“Agriculture and Transportation”
January 8-9, 2015, Martin/Union City
(Obion & Weakley Counties)

 

“Fundamentals of Economic Development: Building Communities from the Base Up”
January 29-30, 2015, Brownsville/Covington
(Haywood & Tipton Counties)

 

“Health, Welfare, and Social Consequences: The Humanity of Leadership”
February 12-13, 2015, Jackson (Madison County)

 

“Public Policy Issues: What is Happening in Tennessee?”
March 10-11, 2015, Nashville – Tuesday/Wednesday

 

“Education: Creating Partnerships for Economic Development”
April 9-10, 2015, Ripley/Dyersburg (Dyer & Lauderdale Counties)


“Energy, Environment and Technology
April 23-24, 2015
(Gibson & Crockett Counties)

 

“Building Partnerships for West Tennessee and Tourism”
May 21-22, 2015, Paris (Henry County)

 

“Taking Your Community Strengths and Making Them an Asset”
June 4-5, 2015, Selmer/Savannah/Pickwick
(McNairy & Hardin Counties)

 

“Celebrating the WestStar Class of 2015: Graduation Banquet”
June 18, 2015 (evening only), Jackson

 

WestStar Leadership Class of 2014

 

Alex Beene
aabeene@gmail.com
Chester County

 

Eric Allen
eric.allen@edwardjones.com
Gibson County

 

Arlisa Armstrong
arlisa.armstrong@tn.usda.gov
Haywood County

 

Lolly Bearden
DONLOL2@bellsouth.net
Obion County

 

Brooxie Carlton
brooxie.carlton@tn.gov
Middle Tennessee

 

Kent Carter
r_kentc@marvin.com
Lauderdale County

 

Keith Cursey
keith.cursey@mtdproducts.com
Weakley County

 

Chad Davis
chad@daviswealthservices.com
Dyer County

 

Maleia Evans
mevans@dscc.edu
Dyer County

 

Charlotte Fisher
cfisher@tipton-county.com
Tipton County

 

Kim Foster
kfoster@cityofparistn.gov
Henry County

 

Landy Fuqua
lfuqua@utm.edu
Weakley County

 

Tammy Hall
thall@dyerchamber.com
Dyer County

 

Lonnie Harris
lonnie.harris@k12tn.net
Fayette County

 

Diana Hart
mooneyd1@yahoo.com
Crockett County

 

Andrew Hart
ahart2@utm.edu
Weakley County

 

Mike Hewitt
mhewitt@atacpa.net
Madison County

 

Mykle Johnson
myklej@utm.edu
Tipton County

 

Bill Joyner
bjoyner@downhomebank.com
Gibson County

 

Beth Koffman
beth.koffman@wth.org
Madison County

 

Travis Martin
t.martin@tlmae.com
Madison County

 

Bradley Owens
bowens@hmddpa.com
Gibson County

 

Anna Page
annapage@first-state.net
Madison County

 

Roger Sigler
Roger.Sigler@tn.gov
Shelby County

 

Sandy Stanfill
sstanfill@jscc.edu
Henderson County

 

Arrita Summers
Arrita.Summers@TCATcrump.edu
Hardin County

 

C.Seth Sumner
seth@cityofsavannah.org
Hardin County

 

Susan Taylor
susan.r.taylor@live.com
Gibson County

 

Amy West
awest12@jscc.edu
Crockett County

 

Nelson Williams
nwilliams@firstcitizens-bank.com
Tipton County

 

The application process for the WestStar Class of 2014 is closed for this year. Please check back September 2014 for the Class of 2015 application. If you have any inquires, please email weststar@utm.edu.