(First Row): Winona Cargile Alexander, Madree Penn White, Wertie Blackwell Weaver, Vashti Turley Murphy, Ethel Cuff Black, Fredericka Chase Dodd,

(Second Row): Osceola Macarthy Adams, Pauline Oberdorfer Minor, Edna Brown Coleman, Edith Motte Young, Marguerite Young Alexander, Naomi Sewell Richardson, Eliza Pearl Shippen,

(Third Row): Zephyr Chisom Carter, Myra Davis Hemmings, Mamie Reddy Rose, Bertha Pitts Campbell, Florence Letcher Toms, Olive C. Jones,
Jessie McGuire Dent, Jimmie Bugg Middleton, Ethel Carr Watson, and Wertie Blackwell Weaver


OMonday, January 13, 1913, on the campus of Howard University, in Washington, D.C., 22 devoted, distinguished, and dedicated African-American women founded Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
Delta is the largest women organization in the world with over 950 chapters and membership that exceeds 250,000 members.
The major programs of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. are based from the Five Point Program Thrust:

Economic Development
Educational Development
International Awareness and Involvement
Physical and Mental Health
Political Awareness and Involvement


Sign our Guestbook
View our Guestbook

Contact us at
or learn more information at