The University of Tennessee at Martin chapter of the

Student Members of the American Chemical Society


2010-11 Speakers

James W. Hodge Visit to UTM on October 28, 2010


1988      B.S.                 University of Tennessee, Martin, Tennessee ; UTM SAACS Vice-President in 1987-88

1990      M.S.                University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee

1993      Ph.D.               University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee

2008      M.B.A.             George Washington University, Washington, DC                                        

2003-Present              Senior Scientist, Director, Recombinant Vaccine Group, Laboratory of Tumor Immunology and Biology, Center for Cancer Research, National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD

Senior Visiting Professor , Albert Einstein College of Medicine, New York. NY.

Professor, UT Medical Center, Knoxville, TN, (adjunct).

NIC Sustained Superior Performance Award for 13 years

Nominated NIC Outstanding Mentor Award for 2 year

7 patents

86 articles (58 primary author for research, 21 review articles, 7 book chapters)

23 Invited Seminars & Lectures in USA

12 Invited Seminars/Lectures in Switzerland, Germany, France, Korea and UK

16 Postdoctorals


While here Dr. Hodge







Updated by Zalak Patel & Kayla Baker. 3-3-11

2009 -10 Speakers

         There were five speakers - Dr. M. S. Ali of Southeast Missouri State University in Cape Giradrdeau on October 8, 2009 on the topic of Green Chemistry; Dr. Isaac A. Stayton of UT-Martin as part of joint meeting of science clubs on campus (Tri-Beta, MED, SMACS and Sigma Xi ) on November 2, 2009, on the topic of "Investigating the Interactions between Silica Nanoparticles and A549 (Human Lung Carcinoma) Cells" ; Dr. Timothy M. Burcham made a presentation: Biodiesel: Pros, Cons, and a Demonstration on February 18, 2010; Dr. John Bartmess spoke on Ionic Liquids: Green Chemistry, and Why Good Solvation means Bad Solvents on March 9, 2010; and ACS Green Chemistry Institute Director, Dr. Bob Peoples gave a honors seminar lecture on March 30, 2010. Except for Dr. Stayton, the group pictures of the four speakers appear on the Green Chemistry Activities link.

Carolyn U. Nguyen, Lepold Max Phiapalath, Dr. Stayton, Thomas H. Hester III, Robert H. Mitchell, Elizabeth A. Abernathy, Brandi Giggs, Sarah Griffin, Jhalak Patel. Haley Jones, Kayla Poindexter, Justin Jordan, Dr. David Sammons, Marci Glover, Ashish Patel, Gilbert Forgays, Dr. Bill Austin, Dr. Otha Britton, Colton Eaton  and Jason Hill. Seated: Dr. Robbie L. Montgomery and Kayla Baker. Picture by Dr. S. K. Airee.

Page created by Jhalak Patel and FA on May 12, 2010