Institutional Review Board for the Protection of Human Subjects in Research: 2022-2023

PURPOSE: The Institutional Review Board for the Protection of Human Subjects in Research (IRB) is responsible for reviewing and approving applications involving human subjects in research to ensure that faculty and student researchers are compliant with federal and state regulations and guidelines.


COMPOSITION: Seven (7) faculty members with strong backgrounds in research involving human subjects (one representative from each academic college and one additional faculty member representing each of the two colleges with the largest number of student IRB proposals) chosen by the Administrative Committee on Committees to serve three-year overlapping terms. In addition, two (2) public, a voting and non-voting alternate, member representing general community interests to serve a one-year term to be appointed as follows: the members of the committee shall compile a list of nominees acceptable to the full committee and submit it to the Executive Director of Research, Outreach, and Economic Development who, in consultation with the Provost and Sr. Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, shall select the community representative from the prepared list. The IRB Institutional Liaison will serve as an ex-officio non-voting member and the chair. One faculty representative elected by the Committee will serve as secretary for the Expedited Review Board. 


REPORTING CHANNEL: Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs



*Ms. Alisha Melton, Int. Exec. Dir. of Research, Outreach, & Economic Development,

IRB Liaison & Chair

Dr. Diana Watson, Agriculture and Applied Sciences (2024)

Mr. Brian Carroll, Agriculture and Applied Sciences (2025)

Dr. Anderson Starling, Business and Global Affairs (2025)

Dr. Tim Dasinger, Education, Health, and Behavioral Sciences (2023)

Dr. Christy Stubblefield, Education, Health, and Behavioral Sciences (2025)

Dr. Matthew Pritchett, Engineering and Natural Sciences (2023)

Dr. Chris Hill, Humanities and Fine Arts (2024)

Ms. Mary Margaret Chester, Community Representative (voting) (2023)

Dr. Greg Moore, Community Alternate (non-voting) (2023)


(*Indicates ex-officio member of the Committee)