## INSTITUTIONAL ANIMAL CARE AND USE COMMITTEE

<u>PURPOSE:</u> The Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee is responsible for reviewing and

approving research and teaching protocols using non-human animals and to inspect facilities used to maintain them to ensure ethical treatment of animals by faculty and

student researchers.

COMPOSITION: Executive Director of Research, Outreach, and Economic Development, one (1)

university veterinary technician, attending veterinarian serving on the faculty in the

Department of Agriculture, Geosciences, and Natural Resources or designee

(alternate CITI-trained university veterinarian permitted, if the attending veterinarian is absent or must recuse him/herself as PI on a protocol), and five (5) additional faculty members, one of whom shall come from a non-animal use background, representing at least three departments chosen by the Administrative Committee on Committees to serve six-year overlapping terms. In addition, two (2) public members, a voting and a non-voting alternate, independent of the university will represent general community interests in the proper care and use of animals and will be appointed to one-year terms as follows: the members of the committee shall compile

a list of nominees acceptable to the full committee and submit it to the Executive Director of Research, Outreach, and Economic Development who, in consultation with the Provost and Sr. Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, will select the

community representative from the presented list. The chair of the Committee will be

elected by the outgoing Committee.

REPORTS TO: Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

## MEMBERSHIP:

	F Name	L Name	<u>Role</u>
*	Alisha	Melton	Executive Director, Research, Outreach, and Economic Development, INSTITUTIONAL OFFICER
*	Kelly	Kennedy	Veterinary Technology
2024	Caren	Nichter	Faculty Representative, non-animal use background
2024	Jennifer	Zimmerman	Community Representative (voting)
2024	Shawn	Miles	Community Alternate (non-voting)
2025	Jack	Grubaugh	Faculty Representative
2026	Donald	Shaw	Faculty Representative
2027	Lori	Littleton	Faculty Representative
2028	Rachna	Tewari	Faculty Representative
2029	Brittany	Cole	Faculty Representative
2030	Clint	Ary	Attending Veterinarian
* Indicates ex-officio member of the Committee			