The University of Tennessee at Martin
Department of Computer Science and Information Systems

Bob Bradley’s CS 201 Timeline / Schedule for Fall 2002

 

Subject to change.  Check online version often.

 

 

Week

Date

CS 201 Section 2

CRN: 41226

Mon-Wed-Fri 8:00 - 8:50 am

Mon: room: BA 203

Wed: room: BA 227

Fri: room: BA 203

CS 201 Section 15

CRN: 41502

Mon 6:00 pm

Meet in room BA 33

Lab in room 227

1

Mon Aug 19

Intro

Intro

COM 17 – COM 30: Essential Introduction to Computers

Wed Aug 21

COM 17 – COM 30: Essential Introduction to Computers

Fri Aug 23

Intro

2

Mon Aug 26

Chap 1: Introduction to Computers

Chap 1: Introduction to Computers

Chap 2: The Internet and World Wide Web

INT 1.01- INT 1.77: An Introduction to Windows 2000 Professional and Office XP

Wed Aug 28

INT 1.01- INT 1.77: An Introduction to Windows 2000 Professional and Office XP

Fri Aug 30

Chap 2: The Internet and World Wide Web

3

Mon Sep 2

HOLIDAY / NO CLASS

HOLIDAY / NO CLASS

Wed Sep 4

INT 1.01- INT 1.77: An Introduction to Windows 2000 Professional and Office XP

Fri Sep 6

Chap 2: The Internet and World Wide Web

4

Mon Sep 9

Chap 3: Application Software

More Chap 2 & INT

Chap 3: Application Software

Intro to MS Word

Review / Catchup

Wed Sep 11

Intro to MS Word

Fri Sep 13

Review / Catch-up

5

Mon Sep 16

Test (chap 1-3)

Test (chap 1-3)

Coding Schemes and Number Systems

Chap 4: The Components of the System Unit

Wed Sep 18

Coding Schemes and Number Systems

Fri Sep 20

Chap 4: The Components of the System Unit

6

Mon Sep 23

Chap 5: Input

Chap 5: Input

 Chap 6: Output

WD 1.03 – 1.70: Microsoft Word 2002 Project ONE

Wed Sep 25

WD 1.03 – 1.70: Microsoft Word 2002 Project ONE

Fri Sep 27

Chap 6: Output

7

Mon Oct 1

Chap 7: Storage

Chap 7: Storage

WD 2.01 – 2.64: Project TWO

Review / Catch-up

Wed Oct 3

WD 2.01 – 2.64: Project TWO

Fri Oct 5

Review / Catch-up

8

Mon Oct 8

Test 2 (chap 4-7)

Test 2 (chap 4-7)

WD 3.01 – 3.66: Project THREE

WDW 1.01 – 1.14: Web Feature

Wed Oct 10

WD 3.01 – 3.66: Project THREE

WDW 1.01 – 1.14: Web Feature

Fri Oct 12

Chap 8: Operating Systems and Utility Programs

9

Mon Oct 14

Mid-Term’s Due

Chap 8: Operating Systems and Utility Programs

Mid-Term’s Due

Chap 8: Operating Systems and Utility Programs

Microsoft Excel 2002 Project ONE

Wed Oct 16

Microsoft Excel 2002 Project ONE

Fri Oct 17-18

Fall Break & Last day to drop a class  NO CLASS

10

Mon Oct 21

Chap 9: Communications and Networks

Chap 9: Communications and Networks

Microsoft Excel 2002 Project TWO

 

Wed Oct 23

Microsoft Excel 2002 Project TWO

Fri Oct 25

Chap 9: Communications and Networks

11

Mon Oct 28

Chap 10: E-Commerce

Chap 10: E-Commerce

Chap 11: Computers and Society: Home, Work, and Ethical Issues

Microsoft Excel 2002 Project THREE

Microsoft Excel 2002 Web Feature

Wed Oct 30

Microsoft Excel 2002 Project THREE

Microsoft Excel 2002 Web Feature

Fri Nov 1

Chap 11: Computers and Society: Home, Work, and Ethical Issues

12

Mon Nov 4

Chap 12: Computers and Society: Security and Privacy

Chap 12: Computers and Society: Security and Privacy

Microsoft PowerPoint 2002 Project ONE

 

Wed Nov 6

Microsoft PowerPoint 2002 Project ONE

Fri Nov 8

Chap 12: Computers and Society: Security and Privacy

13

Mon Nov 11

Test 3 (chap 8-12)

Test 3 (chap 8-12)

Microsoft PowerPoint 2002 Project TWO

Wed Nov 13

Microsoft PowerPoint 2002 Project TWO

Fri Nov 15

Chap 13: Databases and Information Management

14

Mon Nov 18

Microsoft Access 2002

Chap 13: Databases and Information Management

Chap 14: Information System Development

Microsoft Access 2002

Wed Nov 20

Microsoft Access 2002

Fri Nov 22

Chap 14: Information System Development

15

Mon Nov 25

Chap 15: Program Development and Programming Languages

Chap 15: Program Development and Programming Languages

Microsoft Access 2002

Wed Nov 27

Microsoft Access 2002

Fri Nov 29

Microsoft Access 2002

16

Mon Dec 2

Chap 16: Computer Careers and Certification

Chap 16: Computer Careers and Certification

Microsoft Outlook 2002

Office XP Integration

Review

Wed Dec 4

Microsoft Outlook 2002

Office XP Integration

Review

Thur Dec 5

Classes End / No Class

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dec 9-13

Finals

 

18 Final

 

The final is

Mon Dec 9   7:45  to 9:45 am (Morning)

 

The final is

Mon Dec 9  7:30 – 9:30 pm (Evening)