Jenna Wright
Department of English and Modern Foreign Languages
University of Tennessee at Martin
131D Humanities Building
Martin, Tennessee   38238
jenna teaching


Award Recipients, Women Who Write

Nonfiction and Fiction Writer
Award Recipient for Creative Nonfiction, Knoxville Writers' Guild, 2008

    I am  Jenna Wright, Chair of the Department of English and Modern Foreign Languages at The University of Tennessee at Martin.
I received my M.F.A. degree in creative writing from Murray State University and my Master's degree and my B.A. in English from The University of Tennessee. I teach fiction and creative nonfiction courses at UT Martin and am co-coordinator of the Hortense Parrish English Writing Center. My poem "A Doubtful Phoenix" received honorable mention in the poetry division of the Women Who Write 2008 Short Prose and Poetry Contest. I am presently completing a memoir, which has been the source of several readings at conferences and workshops. I am active in faculty governance and have served as President of the UT Martin Faculty Senate (2009-2010). Additionally, I have served as a member of the University of Tennessee Faculty Council, Tennessee University Faculty Senates, and the UT Board of Trustees Academic Success Committee. I have been President of UT Martin's Phi Kappa Phi National Honor Society chapter as well as served on the four-member National Phi Kappa Phi Bylaws Committee for the  2001--2004 triennium.  I annually present at regional, national, and/or international conferences and have had articles and poetry published in such journals as Calliope, Southern Discourse, and The Tennessee English Journal, as well as the creative writing text workbook Poetry Analysis: Understanding and Critiquing PoetrySome teaching awards I have been honored to receive include the following: 

The Smith Professorship (2009)

The Coffey Outstanding Teacher Award (2004)

The University of Tennessee National Alumni Outstanding Teacher Award (2002)

UT Martin Outstanding Educator Award (2002, 2005)

UT Martin Alpha Omicron Pi Teacher of the Year (2003)
UT Martin Phi Delta Kappa First Annual Apple Teaching Award (2003)
UT Martin Epitome Award in Essence Diversity Awards (2003)
Kappa Alpha Outstanding Faculty Member Award (2002)
UT Martin Student Government Excellence in Education Award (1999)
UT Martin PACE Outstanding Teacher Award (1998)
Who's Who Among America's Teachers (1996, 1998, 2004, 2006) 
UT Martin's The Pacer Teacher of the Year (1992)

2002 Teaching Awards Presented at UT Martin

Dr. Frank Black, Interim Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs; Dr. Alice Catherine Carls, Cunningham Teacher/Scholar Award; Dr. Stephanie Kolitsch, Coffey Teacher/Scholar Award; Ms. Teressa Collard, UT National Alumni Outstanding Teacher Award; Ms. Jenna Wright, UT National Alumni Outstanding Teacher Award; Dr. Nick Dunagan, Chancellor.

English Writing Center
 Excerpts from Original Published Poetry