Tennessee Accreditation Network

Welcome to the Tennessee Accreditation Network!

The Tennessee Accreditation Network is a resource for accreditation and assessment professionals at SACSCOC-accredited Tennessee-based higher education institutions. The network is facilitated by the Tennessee Higher Education Commission (THEC) and institutions across the state.

Identity Statement

The Tennessee Accreditation Network is a group of accreditation liaisons and other higher education professionals dedicated to improving the academic quality, accountability, and self and peer evaluation processes of SACSCOC member institutions across the state.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Tennessee Accreditation Network is to support the accreditation efforts of Tennessee higher education institutions through the collective knowledge, ongoing experiences, and shared resources of its members.

Vision Statement

The Tennessee Accreditation Network will be a valuable resource for public and private member institutions as it inspires its members to enhance their knowledge, experience, and service to their respective constituents.


We, the Tennessee Accreditation Network, will accomplish our mission by

  • Aim #1—encouraging continuous improvement in quality and innovation;
  • Aim #2—sharing our collective accreditation and assessment expertise through professional development activities, networking, and mentoring;
  • Aim #3—sharing institutional resources to include good practices and institutional data and information; and
  • Aim #4—providing a discussion forum about accreditation-related topics and a collective voice among the accreditation community.


THEC provides a listserv for the network. To access the listserv, please contact:

Julie A. Roberts (Julie.A.Roberts@tn.gov)

Jeffery Norfleet (Jeffery.Norfleet@tn.gov)


THEC also has a companion webpage devoted to the Tennessee Accreditation Network. More information about the Network can be found here.


The network also provides resource webpages for the convenience of its member institutions. The University of Tennessee at Martin hosts the TAN webpages. Broken links or other changes should be reported to:

Stephanie Kolitsch (skolitsc@utm.edu)

Patty Flowers (pflowers@utm.edu)

Steering Committee

Charlise Anderson, Tennessee State University

Michele Atkins, Union University

Diane Berty, Tennessee Independent Colleges and Universities Association

Colette Catania, Volunteer State Community College

Cheri Clavier, East Tennessee State University

Lynne Crosby, Austin Peay State University

Patty Flowers, University of Tennessee at Martin

Lana Hamilton, Tennessee Board of Regents

Clayton Hess, Lincoln Memorial University

Stephanie Kolitsch, University of Tennessee at Martin

Pam Moss, Southern College of Optometry

Jeffery Norfleet, Tennessee Higher Education Commission

Julie A. Roberts, Tennessee Higher Education Commission

A. B. White, Freed Hardeman University